My First Audit

Home Forums Audit My First Audit

Tagged: 

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    James Wade
    Participant

Everyone,

I just got on to a 2017 income tax audit. Most issues are relatively straightforward (exemptions, child tax credit, education credit and schedule C substantiation). The auditor has requested a phone interview with the client to go over internal controls/barter/cryptocurrency (per the auditor). I told her I would talk with my clients but I would be against that.

Actually I said, as an attorney I am against an in-person interview but would be happy to get answers to her questions. She said, as a revenue agent she was against doing it that way. So any suggestions on how to frame a no without being a jerk (assuming that it is never a good idea to let clients be interviewed). Or should I ask for the questions in writing first so I can prepare the clients on how to answer the questions (and have them there with me so I can tell them to answer or don’t answer a question if it goes somewhere dangerous)?

Again, thoughts and alternatives very much appreciated.

Sincerely,

Jim Wade

Eric Green
    Keymaster

Jim, I would send a fax that the client is entitled to representation, you are her power of attorney and you will be able to either answer the questions or obtain the answers. If, however, there is a question that arises that you are unable to get an answer to then at that point you would consider allowing the taxpayer to be interviewed.

James Wade
    Participant

Eric,

Thank you. This is a big help. I also found in the IRM where it talks about allowing the representative to speak on the topic of internal controls so long as they understand the system (so I will make sure to throw in some citations as well).

Sincerely,

Jim Wade

James Wade
    Participant

Everyone,